The Orwell Prize 2017

The Orwell Prize is awarded annually in the UK by The Orwell Foundation and aims ‘to encourage good writing and thinking about politics’.

The shortlist for the 2017 prize has just been announced. The diverse subjects covered by these books reflects the broad definition of politics the prize has adopted. The list below includes the brief descriptions from The Orwell Prize website but adds links to book reviews for each title.

Citizen Clem by John Bew
Biography of the post-war Labour Prime Minister by an author praised as ‘the outstanding historian of his generation’.

The Seven by Ruth Dudley Edwards
A critical re-examination of the Easter Rising and the ‘fundamental questions and myths surrounding Ireland’s founding fathers’.

All Out War by Tim Shipman
Contemporary history of the EU referendum campaign from political reporter Tim Shipman, ‘based on unrivalled access to all the key politicians and their advisors’.

Island Story by J. D. Taylor
With a rusty bike and a tent, new name J. D. Taylor cycles round Britain in search of the answer to the question – ‘what is life like on this island?’

And the Sun Shines Now by Adrian Tempany
A book about ‘what arrived in the wake of unquestionably the most controversial tragedy in the post-war era of Britain’s history’.

Another Day in the Death of America by Gary Younge
The Guardian writer Gary Younge focuses on Saturday November 23rd 2013, when ten children and teens were killed by gunfire in the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *